Lost Colorado Driver’s License. How To Replace?

Lost Colorado Driver's License

Lost Colorado Driver’s License

You may be eligible for a duplicate driver’s license after losing, stealing, or destroying your license. In addition, The state Driver’s License Office may be able to provide you with a duplicate credential at no charge if you have not received your credential in the mail within 30-60 days.

Essentially,  a duplicate of your license, contains the same expiration date, class, and endorsements as your former one.

So, If you lost, stole, or destroyed your credential, you’ll need to go to a driver’s license office to get a duplicate. Online appointments are available at myDMV.Colorado.gov. Select Renew Colorado License/Identification card as your appointment type when scheduling your visit.

How to replace it?

When you lose your Colorado driver’s license, or if it’s stolen, badly damaged, or destroyed, you’ll need a new one as soon as possible. Your options are as follows:

Replace License by Yourself:

Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles locations allows you to replace your license in person. It is best to schedule an appointment as soon as possible. For this, the steps you need to take care 

  • A valid form of identification must be brought in.
  • Verification of your current residential address. 
  • A renewal fee of $21.00.

Replace License By Mail:

Duplicate licenses may be available by mail if you live outside of Colorado. In order to find out if you qualify, you will need to print and complete the Out-of-State Extension Form (Form DR2989). You will mail that form and fee to:

Revenue Department of Colorado

Room 136, Division of Motor Vehicles

80261-0016 Denver, CO

You will need to renew your license at a Colorado DMV office in person if you want to change your name or get a new photo.

Replace License Online

Driving license online

Drivers in Colorado will be able to renew their licenses online. Before renewing online, here are some things you should know:

  • A Visa, Mastercard, Discover, or American Express credit card.
  • A valid email address.
  • An administrative processing fee applies to all transactions.
  • To renew your driver’s license or state ID online, you must meet all eligibility requirements.

Conclusion | Lost Colorado Driver’s License

A lost Colorado driver’s license may qualify you for a duplicate. As a matter of fact, A duplicate credential may be available to you at no charge from the state Driver’s License Office if you have not received your credential in the mail within 30-60 days.

However, You can replace your license through mail, online, or by yourself.

FAQs | Lost Colorado Driver’s License

What do you need to get a replacement driver’s license in Colorado?

1. Contact your local law enforcement agency and file a police report.
2. Complete the Identity Theft Affidavit by downloading and filling it out.
3. Make sure your signature is notarized.
4. The documents must be brought to any Colorado Driver’s License office, not mailed, emailed, or faxed.

Can you get a new driver’s license online in Colorado?

Yes, You can get a new driver’s license online.